A place where you need to follow for what happening in world cup

why don't they say milk anymore?

0


The law of Parliament on the word milk

The European Parliament in its plenary session approved a strengthening of protection for dairy names. Vegetable drinks, such as those based on soy, almond, oats, etc., cannot be called “milk”. Different in the composition and in the origin of the raw material itself, veg drinks and milk of animal origin are two products that differ above all from a nutritional point of view.

For some time in the European Union it has not been possible to use the word “milk” to define some vegetable drinks, such as, for example, soy drinks. The vote of the European Parliament, however, goes further, as it does not limit itself to confirming the rules in force since 2017, which prohibit the improper use of the typical names of dairy products such as: butter, cheese, yogurt or the word “milk” itself. “. With this vote, Parliament decided to ban also evocations and imitations: for example, the use of expressions such as “milk-type drink” or “milk substitute”. Just as tofu can no longer be defined as a “vegetable cheese”, or a rice or soy drink can no longer bear words such as “milk substitute” on the label. This is a protection of dairy names similar to that provided for PDOs and PGIs.

To know more:
Milk and Vegetable Drinks Compared

To know more:
Gluten-free cheeses

Protection of the denomination

The European assembly has therefore decided to reiterate theopposition to the use of the name milk for soy, almond, rice and oat based products and other derivatives of non-animal origin. The protection of dairy names in Europe began as early as 1987 and was confirmed with subsequent regulations. Furthermore, with various sentences, the Court of Justice of the European Union has promptly confirmed the protection of dairy names. The latest, in chronological order, was the well-known TofuTown ruling, which established that the European ban on the use of dairy names is valid even if the plant-based products are accompanied by indications specifying their origin, i.e. their nature. vegetable of the product.

The exceptions in Italy

For plant products there are some exceptions. However, the ban does not apply to the “designation of products whose exact nature is clear for traditional use and/or where the names are clearly used for describe a characteristic quality of the product”.

In particular in Italythe exception concerns the following products:

The vegetable drinks market

With the increase in veganism and intolerances – particularly to lactose – the sale of milk of animal origin is suffering a decline compared to the constant growth on the market of plant-based alternatives. According to estimates released by the site The Vegan Societyin fact, the sector of vegetable drinks in Europe in 2019 it produced a total turnover of over 1.7 billion euros which translates as 14% of the total sector. Those who prefer vegetable milk are those who are allergic or intolerant to cow's milk, a constant increase, but also those who choose it over cow's milk, for ethical or personal reasons. Vegetable milk is usually less caloric, without saturated fats and rich in proteins and vitamins. All elements that make it a valid substitute for cow's milk.

Choose the vegetable drink requires attention: the origin must always be checked (especially if we are talking about soya). Prefer organic and traceable crops. Products with added sugar or sodium should also be avoided, as should those with unspecified vegetable oil.

Il almond milk (unsweetened) is now America's favorite milk substitute, with sales growth of 250% over the past five years, representing 5% of the total milk market. Many attribute this growing consumption, in spite of rice, soy or oat drinks, to its beneficial properties and in particular to its high protein contentinvaluable for those who follow a vegan diet or are on a diet.

Banana milk is also among the most popular vegetable milks.

These are the benefits of oat flour.

Soy foods are one of the plant-based alternatives for those who don't want to eat meat.

Is eating without food useful when you're not feeling well?

Even veg cheeses cannot be called cheese

The Court of Justice interpreted the legislation of the Union noting that, as stated in the text of the sentence: “for the purposes of marketing and advertising, the legislation in question reserves, in principle, the denomination 'milk' only to milk of animal origin. Furthermore, except for expressly provided exceptions, this legislation reserves names such as cream, chantilly, butter, cheese and yoghurt, only to dairy productsi.e. the products derived from milk“.
In particular, the following names used in all phases of marketing are reserved exclusively for dairy products:

Milk and cheese they can only be defined as such if they are of animal originregardless of the properties and benefits, for example, of vegetable drinks, which are valid alternatives to cow's milk, for intolerants or vegans.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.